From mining and quarrying to music and farming (and much more besides), Constantine has a fascinating past. Since June 2005, it is also proud to have its very own local history museum located in the Tolmen Centre on Fore Street. Come and glimpse for yourself the life and times of this vibrant community near the Helford River.

As the museum develops, it will offer:

  • A full education programme with workshops, off-site resource boxes, group tours and related talks.
  • A Cornish reference library and a local oral history project.
  • Audio commentary on all display boards.
  • Children’s interactive activities
  • Roadshows – curator and artifacts will travel to local groups.

Do you have a couple of hours a week to spare? Getting involved is easy and we welcome volunteers of all ages and from all walks of life.

Museum collection policy (PDF)

“Constantine Remembers”

Saturday 6th August 2016
- Sunday 7th August 2016 10:30am

This event, organised by the Museum, with contributions from community groups, will commemorate the contribution made by the parish of Constantine to World War 1. The main element will be an exhibition, the result of research by Museum volunteers and very helpful contributions from relatives of those who served. Contributions to the exhibition will also be made by the Helford River Scouts (established 1912) The Constantine Garden Society, WI and we hope the school.

Museum volunteers are very grateful to those who have responded to previous mentions of the event and contributed information and items. We would be delighted to hear from others whose relatives served and from anyone who would be prepared to help set up and steward the event. Please contact Don Garman on 250604 or email dj.garman@btinternet or call in at the museum on Mondays from 12.00 – 15.30

Did you know:

160 men from the Parish enlisted between1914 – 18 and 26 did not return (this number included some recent emigrants to Canada, New Zealand, Australia and South Africa).One Constantine stone mason returning from the USA lost his life on the Lusitania when she was torpedoed.

Come along and find answers to the following questions:

What was Constantine like at the outbreak of war in 1914?

Where did the boys of the parish serve?

How did the community support those at the front and the Belgians?

How were the servicemen welcomed home?

What was life like for those that returned?

Who were the community leaders?

How were farmers and others affected by the war?

What happened to suspected spies?


Saturday 6th August

10.30 Short service at the War Memorial led by Reverend Terry Axe. Relatives of those who served, Royal British Legion members and service men and women are invited to participate.

10.45 Procession to Tolmen Centre led by the Constantine Silver Band

11.00 Opening of commemorative event

All Day – The Great War Society – a living history group will give demonstrations

11.30 – 12.00 Constantine Silver Band

14.00 Story teller – Katie Kirk

14.40 Trengilly Singers

15.20 Story teller – Katie Kirk

16.00 Trengilly Singers

17.00 Doors Close

Sunday 7th August

10.30 event opens for the day

14.00  Talk “100 Faces 100 Stories by local historian Jo Mattingley

14.40 Constantine Ukulele Band – plays songs from the period

15.20 Talk repeated

16.00 Constantine Ukulele Band – plays music from the period

16.30 Event closes

Refreshments including light lunches will be available on both days.

Entrance is free but donations will be appreciated.

The event is supported by the Cornwall Council Community Fund