Constantine Cornwall

Diamond Jubilee Stone Unveiled


Caitlin DeSilvey and Peter Tatham

In March, after months of planning, an 8 ton piece of granite appeared in the middle of the village, next to the bus stop. Since then, the feature has undergone a transformation, and in brilliant sunshine on Saturday 23 November a large group of villagers participated in a ceremony to unveil Constantine Diamond Jubilee Stone.

James Agnew, the chair of the Diamond Jubilee Organizing Group, opened the ceremony with thanks for all of the people who helped make the Diamond Jubilee project possible. Before unveiling the stone, Tracey Clowes (former Curator of the Constantine Heritage Centre), traced the fascinating history of Constantine granite, from its incorporation in the ancient fogou at Trewardreva, through its use in the construction of many important local and national buildings and structures, and up to the closure of Bosahan Quarry in 1993. The new Diamond Jubilee Stone incorporates a Parish Map, which will be the starting point for the planned Granite Trail, and also incorporates the certificate of Her Majesty the Queen Award for Voluntary Service, which was presented to the Constantine Community in 2011.


The ceremony concluded with a blessing from the Rev Stewart Turner.

God of past, present and future,

We have placed this stone to commemorate the Diamond Jubilee of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II

Recognising all that we owe to her and the immeasurable contribution she has made to our nation during the 60 years of her reign.

May this stone also stand as a symbol of fellowship.

May it inspire each of us to faithfully play our part as members of this community without any thought of recognition, but simply to serve the good of all, and in doing so draw us closer to you.

The Diamond Jubilee Stone was made possible due to the support of the following: Constantine Diamond Jubilee Committee Members; Constantine Parish Council; Cornwall Councillor Community Grant (Community Chest); Constantine Enterprises Company (Calor Villages Award); Mr Tim Marsh, Trenoweth Quarry; Mr and Mrs John Olds, Bosahan Quarry; Mr David Paton; 20/20 Design; Mrs Helen Pascoe; Mr Gavin Saunders; Rhiannon Mann, Waymarker; Kevin White; James Agnew and Peter Tatham.