Constantine Cornwall

The Enys family of Penryn

January 2019

Terry Chapman shared the history of the Enys family of Penryn, the house, gardens and the estate’s influence on Mylor at Constantine History Group’s January meeting.

The earliest record of the family dates back to 1272. The Elizabethan property was burned down in the 1820s and replaced by the present house. In the late 17th century. Samuel Enys restored the family fortunes by importing wine and built a house in Penryn close to his wharves. His successor amassed 41 properties across Cornwall and built a town house in Truro. 

The garden benefitted from the family’s travels and a number of plants from the antipodes can still be found. Unfortunately, the house fell into disrepair during the 20th century but is now gradually being renovated and is, amazingly, still in the ownership of the family.

Although not the principle landowners in Mylor Parish the estate had a strong influence on the village. The Enys estate rented land, employed trades people, funded a school for 60 years and provided a village pump as well as directly employing gardeners, grooms, gamekeepers and house staff from Mylor. 

A truly fascinating story reflecting the history of Cornwall from Medieval times to the present.

Tony Brooks will speak about iron mining in Cornwall in the Constantine WI Hall at 19.15 on February 15th. Visitors are always welcome. Contact 01326 250604